From silver to clean energy

The Drei-Brüder-Schacht in Freiberg/Zug was used to mine silver ore from 1800 to 1898. After the drop in silver mining in the region, Europe’s first cavern power plant was built here between 1913 and 1914.

Discover Drei-Brüder-Schacht
Kraftwerk unter Tage – Historische Ansicht

»Glück auf!«

We are the “Drei-Brüder-Schacht” support association. With creativity, engineering spirit and strength of muscles, we have jointly dedicated to preserving and publishing the unique technical-montane-historical site of Drei-Brüder-Schacht.

Upcoming events